Azerbaijan National Academy of Science

The first website of Azerbaijan (1995)

HOME PAGE  >>  Institutes and organizations  >>  Institute of Microbiology

Institute of Microbiology

According to the Decree of President Ilham Aliyev “On some measures to improve management in the field of science and education in the Republic of Azerbaijan” dated July 28, 2022, it was transferred to the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Science and Education.


Az1073, Baku, 

Mikayıl Mushfig 103 
Phone (+994 12) 5024359
Fax (+994 12) 5024470
General director  Correspondent member of ANAS Panah Muradov Zulfigar oglu

Office phone: (+994 12) 5024621

Mob.: (+994 50) 6784323

Fax: (+994 12) 5024470


Deputy directors

İsa Mammad oglu Jafarov

Office phone: (+994 12) 5024389

Mob.: (+994 55) 8180352

Scientific secretary

Farida Khosrow gizi Gahramanaova

Dr. Biology

Office phone: (+994 12) 5024389


Establishment history 1972
Basic activity directions  Studying the diversity of microorganisms in natural habitats and ecological, physiological, biochemical and biotechnological basis for their use
Main scientific achievements 
  • Identified the characteristic by high basal level of some hydrolases inductively synthesized by xylotrophic macromycetes, developed a scientific and practical basis effective biotransformation of plant waste by principle "low-waste or non-waste at a particular stage" technology;
  • From plants are included in the flora of Azerbaijan were isolated essential oils have a selective action on fungi;
  • Determined ability of fungi to synthesize compounds consisting of a mixture of various amounts of carbon atoms and various functional groups of polyacetylenes, opposed to chemical synthesis while the process together with optically active glycols relating to a number of compounds polyacetylenes also was identified synthesis of ketoalcohols;
  • Was conducted the microbiological evaluation modern ecological status of aquatic ecosystems of Azerbaijan, developed the biotechnological bases of cleaning water and soil contaminated with petroleum and petroleum products, and for this purpose found the optimal ratio of species, presented in the association of microorganisms effective for this purpose;
  • Was revealed spread over 30 species new for the mycobiota of Azerbaijan nature.
Total number of employees 78
Structural subdivisions Laboratory of Microbial enzymes
Laboratory of Microbial Collection
Laboratory of Ecological Microbiology
Laboratory of Soil Microbiology
Laboratory of Biochemistry
Laboratory of Experimental Mycology
Laboratory of water microbiology

Scientific Council:

-       chairman

-       secretary

-       members


Mammad Salmanov Ahad 

Farida Gahramanova Khosrov 

Panah Muradov Zulfigar

Nariman İsmaylov Mammad

Ramiz Safarov Kabutər

Yemen Atakishiyeva Yusif

Ilham Aliyev Azizkhan

Svetlana Gasimova Yusif

Ayten Garayusifova Karim

Anar Huseynov Teyyub

Ajdar Talibli Gambar

Samira Najafova Imamyar

Shahla Babayeva Adil

İrada Vezirova Azar

Council of  Young Scientists and Specialists:

-       chairman

-       secretary

-       members


Ayten Garayusifova Karim 

Gulnara Gasanova Mursal 

Vusala Khalilova Djavanshir 

Saida Rafael Aliyeva

Anar Huseynov Teyyub

Konul İsayeva Khudadat

Efsana Huseynova Anvar

Dissertation Council

-       chairman

-       deputy chair

-       scientific secretary

-       members


Mammad Salmanov Ahad

Ilham Azimov Mugbil

Farida Gahramanova Khosrow

Yamen Atakishiyeva Yusif

Firayet Ahmadova Ramazan

İrada Ahmadova Jamil 

Agavali İbrahimov Shavali

Gulrukh Dilbazi Haji

Khudaverdi Ganbarov Ganbar

Gasimova Svetlana Yusif

Fuad Gulubayov Mamay

Ramiz Safarov Kabutər

Ajdar Talibli Ganbar

Ilham Aliyev Azizkhan

Gular Seyidova Mircafar

Najafova Samira İmamyar

Yusifov Avtandil Huseyn

Huseynov Anar Teyyub

Trade Union:

-       chairman

-       deputy chairman

-       secretary

-       bureau members


Sarıbala Aliyev Nazar

Fikret Abdurahmanov Yusif

Shafiga Feyzullaeva Akbar(secretary)

PR responsible person Narmina Huseynova Hidayet
Doctors of sciences